Fines & Court Cost

The fines, costs, and fees vary with the nature of the offense. You may contact a Court Clerk to determine the amount of your citation or you may search online. The maximum fine for most traffic cases is $200, and other Class C misdemeanor state law violations carry up to a $500 fine. The fines assessed for violations of city ordinances range between $50 and $2,000.

When you pay your fine you are pleading "no contest" and waiving your right to a trial. You will be found guilty and the conviction will be reported to the Department of Public Safety, if applicable.

Methods of Payments

Online Payments
You may pay online by credit/debit card (Visa or Mastercard only)

In Person
You can bring your payment to the Mansfield Municipal Court window inside the Public Safety Building, 1305 E. Broad Street, Mansfield, TX, 76063. Please note that if someone brings your payment you must have entered a plea. You can do so by signing the back of your citation or you can sign a plea form. Without a plea, the Municipal Court cannot accept a payment.

By Mail
You can mail your money order to 1305 E Broad Street, Mansfield, Texas 76063. The payment must be for the full amount due by money order. Write the citation number on the money order, and indicate if you have an address change.

Extensions/Time Payment Plans

All fines and fees are due within 15 days after the date the citation is issued. However, it is possible to obtain additional time to pay a citation if it is requested in person at the Municipal Court. If additional time to pay is requested within 15 days of the date of the citation, the Court Clerk can process the paperwork for an extension up to 30 days to pay the fines and costs due.

Time Payment Fee

If the fine and fees are not paid within 30 days of the judgment, there is a $15 State-Mandated Time Payment fine which must be added to the amount owed on the citation. Per Chapter 51 of the Texas Government Code, a $15 Time Payment fee is added to each citation that exceeds 30 days. If any portion of the fines, fees and costs is paid after the 31st day from the date of judgment, the $15 Time Payment fee must be added as required by law.

Notifying the Court & Extensions

It is your responsibility to notify the Court if you are unable to pay within the time allowed by the Court. If you are unable to pay your citation(s), you must appear before the Court and fill out a financial statement and set a court hearing before the Judge of the Court due to your possible indigence.

If you are found indigent by the Judge, you may be ordered to perform community service under C.C.P. ART 43.091 of the Texas Criminal Law and the violation will result in a conviction on your record. Only the Judge has the authority to grant you more than thirty 30 days to pay. If the request for additional time to pay is granted, the $25 Time Payment fee will be assessed as required by State Law.